IEEE International Conference on Communications
7-11 June 2020 // Virtual Conference
Communications Enabling Shared Understanding

Call for Symposium Papers

Download Call for Papers here.

IEEE ICC 2020 will feature a comprehensive technical and industry program covering the latest research and innovation in communications technologies. Themed, “Communications Enabling Shared Understanding,” this flagship conference of the IEEE Communications society will feature a comprehensive high-quality technical program including 13 symposia and a variety of tutorials and workshops. IEEE ICC 2020 will also include an attractive Industry program aimed at practitioners, with keynotes and panels from prominent research, industry and government leaders, business and industry panels, and vendor exhibits.

All papers for technical symposia (including Selected Areas in Communications) should be submitted via EDAS.


Paper Submission: 14 October 2019; 28 October 2019 (Extended Deadline)

Acceptance Notification: 27 January 2020

Camera-Ready: 24 February 2020

Author Upload and Registration Deadline: 02 March 2020


Original technical papers are sought in the following areas:


SAC - Internet of Things (CFP)

  • Marios Angelopoulos, Bournemouth University, UK
  • Antonio F. Skarmeta, Universidad de Murcia, Spain

SAC - Social Networks (CFP)

  • Neeli Prasad, ITU San Jose, USA

SAC - Smart Grid Communications (CFP)

  • Hongjian Sun, University of Durham, UK

SAC - Tactile Internet (CFP)

  • Danda B. Rawat, Howard University, USA

SAC - Access Networks, Systems and Power Line Communications (CFP)

  • Fabrizio Granelli, University of Trento, Italy

SAC - Big Data (CFP)

  • Weisi Guo, University of Warwick, UK

SAC - Satellite and Space Communications (CFP)

  • Daniele Tarchi, University of Bologna, Italy

SAC - Molecular, Biological, and Multi-Scale Communication (CFP)

  • Yansha Deng, King's College London, United Kingdom

SAC - Cloud & Fog Computing, Networking, and Storage (CFP)

  • Jeongseok Ha, KAIST, Korea
  • Marcelo Marotta, Universidade de Brasília, Brazil

SAC - E-Health (CFP)

  • Honggang Wang, University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth

Communication Theory Symposium (CFP)

  • Harpreet S. Dhillon, Virginia Tech, USA

  • Mark Flanagan, University College Dublin, Ireland

  • Deniz Gunduz, Imperial College London, UK

Wireless Communications Symposium (CFP)

  • Simon Pun, Chinese University Hong Kong, China
  • Xiangyun (Sean) Zhou, Australian National University, Australia
  • Yuan Shen, Tsinghua University, China
  • Paulo Cardieri, Unicamp, Brazil
  • Changchuan Yin, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China

Mobile and Wireless Networks Symposium (CFP)

  • Mehdi Bennis, University of Oulu, Finland
  • Baoxian Zhang, University of Chinese Academy, China
  • Ismail Guvenc, North Carolina State University, USA
  • Lin Gao, Harbin Institute of Technology, China

Cognitive Radio and AI-Enabled Networks Symposium (CFP)

  • Kai Yang, Tongji University, China
  • Georgios Ropokis, CentraleSupélec, Campus Rennes

Optical Networks and Systems Symposium (CFP)

  • Zuqing Zhu, University of Science and Technology, China
  • Roberto Rojas-Cessa, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA

Green Communication Systems and Networks Symposium (CFP)

  • Ranga Venkatesha Prasad, TU Delft, Netherlands
  • Taisir Elgorashi, University of Leeds, UK

Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks Symposium (CFP)

  • Abdellatif Kobbane, ENSIAS, Mohammed V University of Rabat, Morocco
  • Rodolfo Wanders Lima Coutinho, University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Weixiao Meng, Harbin Institute of Technology, China

Communication QoS, Reliability and Modeling Symposium (CFP)

  • Miki Yamamoto, Kansai University, Japan
  • Elli Kartsakli, Iquadrat, Spain
  • Yusheng Ji, National Institute of Informatics, Japan

Communication and Information Systems Security Symposium (CFP)

  • Shui Yu, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
  • Bin Xiao, Hong Kong Polytechnic, China
  • Jennifer Chen, Rutgers University, USA

Communication Software, Services and Multimedia Applications Symposium (CFP)

  • Qian Zhang, HKUST, China
  • Abd-Elhamid M.Taha, Alfaisal University, Saudi Arabia
  • Zheng Chang, University of Jyväskylä, Finland

Next-Generation Networking and Internet Symposium (CFP)

  • Chi (Harold) Liu, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
  • Muhammad Ali Imran, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Nadjib Aitsaadi, UVSQ Paris-Saclay, France

Signal Processing for Communications Symposium (CFP)

  • Tomoaki Ohtsuki, Keio University, Japan
  • Santiago Mazuelas Franco, BCAM, Spain
  • Xiaoming Tao, Tsinghua University, China


Important IEEE Policy Announcement: The IEEE reserves the right to exclude a paper from distribution after the conference (including its removal from IEEE Explore) if the paper is not presented at the conference.

Papers are reviewed on the basis that they do not contain plagiarized material and have not been submitted to any other conference at the same time (double submission). These matters are taken very seriously and the IEEE Communications society will take action against any author who engages in either practice. Follow these links to learn more:

PLEASE NOTE: To be published in the IEEE ICC 2020 Conference Proceedings and to be eligible for publication in IEEE Xplore®, an author of an accepted paper is required to register for the conference at the FULL or LIMITED (member or non-member) rate and the paper must be presented by an author of that paper at the conference unless the TPC Chair grants permission for a substitute presenter in advance of the event and who is qualified both to present and answer questions.  Non-refundable registration fees must be paid prior to uploading the final IEEE formatted, publication-ready version of the paper. For authors with multiple accepted papers, one FULL or LIMITED registration is valid for up to 3 papers. Accepted and presented papers will be published in the IEEE ICC 2020 Conference Proceedings and submitted to IEEE Xplore®.

During the initial paper submission process via EDAS, it is the authors' responsibility to ensure that the author list and the paper title of the submitted pdf file is an exact match to the author list and paper title on the EDAS registration page.  In particular, the EDAS registration page must include all co-authors, not just the submitting author. Failure to comply with this rule might result in your paper being withdrawn from the review process. Please be aware that the author list of an accepted paper can NOT be changed in the final manuscript.

All submissions should be written in English with a maximum paper length of six (6) printed pages (10-point font) including figures without incurring additional page charges (maximum 1 additional page with over length page charge for an additional fee, if accepted) in the standard IEEE two-column conference format. Papers exceeding 7 pages will not be accepted at EDAS.

Download Standard IEEE conference templates for LaTeX formats >>

You may also use one of the following templates for Microsoft Word: A4, US letter. Only PDF files will be accepted for the review process, and all submissions must be done through EDAS.

If you have any questions regarding the submission of manuscripts, please contact one of the Technical Program Chairs of the Symposia that you are submitting a paper to.